Phil Young (AKA Wheels)

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Phil Young
      TCB admin

“Go on then say something”…
      …”You don’t know what to write, do you?”

It’s not that; it’s just where to start…

…Firstly, perhaps I should say that I’ve never worked commercially in the food industry. However, food has always been something of an obsession. I’m a passable cook but my major interest lies in making those ingredients that most people will buy. Included in that is the whole range of charcuterie products from cold cutting pies to salami.

My interest started about twenty-five years ago when I made bacon using a recipe in a River Cottage book; it was awful; far too salty. With hindsight, I realise that the (optional) saltpetre that I added far exceeded the legal levels had the bacon been commercially produced.

It put me off for a while but was always niggling at the back of my mind. It was only when chanced on a recipe for a ‘new’ method of curing bacon that used measured amounts of ingredients to control the finished result that the curing bug bit. To be honest, I was so impressed with the results that I became a bit of a ‘curing bore’. When, with the guidance and encouragement of other forum members, I also started making sausages I must have become almost intolerable; my only topics of conversation were charcuterie based!

I became a member, and subsequently a moderator, of the forum where I had seen the recipe. I’m still involved in running that forum as well as being a moderator for the Facebook Salt Cured Pig and Great British Bacon Making groups.